Saturday, June 23, 2012


Mavelikkara  K.Velukkutty Nair is an exponent in playing the percussion instrument 'Mridangam' and he was  Professor and Head of the department of Mridangam at Swathi Thirunal Music College,Trivandrum.
Velukkutty Nair was born on 26 October 1926 at 'Chettikulangara Eerezha South' of Mavelikkara to parents Karthiyayani Amma and Mridanga Maestro  Muthukulam S.Kumara Pillai.
He started learning  Mridangam from his father from the age of seven itself.His 'Arangettam' (first public performance) was held when he was 11 years old at Kandiyoor 
Mahadeva Temple at Mavelikkara.
Later he had undergone  'Gurukula type of  training ' in Mridangam from Maestro Palghat
Mani Iyer for a period of eight years by staying at his residence.
From 1950 on wards he received name and  fame as a expert 'mridangist'.
Umayalpuram Sivaraman and Palakkad Raghu were  also disciples of Palakkad Mani Iyer
along with Velukkutty Nair.

From 1959  he worked at Thiruvananthapuram Swathi Thirunal Music College as
teacher of Mridangam.He later became the professor and Head of that department  and worked there till 1982.
He was visiting professor in that Institution during 84-85.

Professor Mavelikkara Velukkutty Nair earned very good opinion from critics and music lovers as an expert percussionist.This maestro always stood apart as a great mridangist and
displayed high level of professionalism  in concerts.He accompanied all the eminent
vocalists of that period  in  concerts for about   six decades.Those musicians includes Chembai Vaidyanatha Bhagavathar,Semmangudi Sreenivasa Iyer,M.D.Ramanathan, D.K.Pattammal,D.K.Jayaraman,M.L.Vasantha Kumari,M.Balamurali Krishna,
T.N.Krishnan,Lalgudi Jayaraman,K.J.Jesudas,Parassala Ponnammal,Sankaran Nampoothiri etc.
His disciples includes Thiruvantapuram V.Surendran,Parassala Ravi, T.V.Vasan(Ghatam)
R.Vaidyanathan etc.He is top artist of All India Radio.
He received Kerala  Sangeetha Nataka  Academy award in 1981
He received Kerala Sangeetha Nataka Academy Fellowship in 1998
Sangeetha Kalacharya title from Music Academy Chennai 
Golden Jubilee Award from Dr.Semmangudi Sreenivasa Iyer foundation,Chennai in 2002
Gayaka Ratna title from Swathi Thirunal Sangeetha Sabha Trivandrum in 2000
Ganalaya  Visharath from Travancore Devaswom Board in 1994
Guruvayoorappan Chembai Award from Guruvayoor Devaswom in2008
Golden Jubilee Award from Swathi Thirunal Sangeetha Sabha,Thiruvanathapuram in 1992
Thulasivanam Award from Thulasivanam Trust Trivandrum in 1996
Prathibha Pranamam by Manaveeyam Govt. of Kerala
Vadya Kulapathi title from Kaladarpanam, Aluva in 2002
Sangeetha Sampoorna title from Poornathrayeesa Sangeetha Sabha,Thripunithura

He is  recipient of several other awards also from India and  Abroad.

No comments:

Post a Comment